Skip to product information
1 of 1

Topvaluebooks

A Deadly Endeavor: A Novel (A Deadly Twenties Mystery)

A Deadly Endeavor: A Novel (A Deadly Twenties Mystery)

ISBN: 9781639106950
  • Author: Adams
  • Condition: LikeNew
Regular price $26.59 USD
Regular price Sale price $26.59 USD
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.
A serial killer is on the loose in Jazz Age Philadelphia in Jenny Adams' debut historical mystery, perfect for fans of Deanna Raybourn and Rhys Bowen.

Philadelphia, 1921. When Edie Shippen returns home after spending years in California recovering from Influenza, she's shocked to discover that her childhood sweetheart is engaged to her twin sister. Heartbroken and adrift, Edie vows to begin living her life as a modern woman--and to hell with anyone who gets in her way. But as young women start to disappear from the city, her newfound independence begins to feel dangerous.

Gilbert Lawless returned home from the Great War a shell of his former self. He hides away in the office of Philadelphia's Coroner, content to keep to himself until a gruesome series of corpses come into the morgue. And when his sister, Lizzie, goes missing, he risks his career to beg help from the one person Lizzie seemed to trust: her employer, Edie Shippen.

Fearing the worst, Edie and Gilbert desperately search for clues. It soon becomes clear that Lizzie's disappearance is connected to the deaths rocking the City of Brotherly Love... and it's only a matter of time until the killer strikes again.

With a lush Roaring Twenties setting and a wickedly smart sleuth to cheer for, A Deadly Endeavor is the perfect puzzling romp for fans of Miss Fisher's Murder Mysteries.
View full details